Week two, Wilton decorating class

Think I am starting to cut down the time on cake baking. Had to make a nine inch cake for my second wilton cake decorating class. I went from an hour and a half to 45 mins. Not exactly training for a marathon but I like knowing I am becoming more confident baker.

At the second wilton cake decorating class, we learned about the right icing consistency, piping leaves and shells, and transferring designs from wax paper on the cakes. The best part was transferring designs. I come from a family of artists and never acquired the family talent. Knowing I can simply trace designs on a cake is a relief.

Next challenge is perfecting my icing spread, tracing a design, and working on my leaves and shells. My family is tapped out of desserts. My co-workers also enjoyed the last cake, who else can I give my sweets away to? Just as a side note to my pic, this cake might’ve slide around the car before making it back to the office.

20130519-012150.jpg

Leave a Reply

